Monkey Mind  

International Winner: 2016 Childrens Fables

National Winner: 2016 Pre-Teen Fiction – Fantasy

National Winner: 2016 Childrens Short Stories

e

National Winner: 2016 Children-Young Readers: 8-12

Tales for your monkey's mind

National Winner: 2015 "Book & Author" Book Of The Year: Children Fables

Recognizing accomplished authors in the field of children’s literature

“Offers fables and fairy tales that are at once timeless and contemporary…, Reedy takes elements of classic storytelling, such as witches and magical storybooks, inserts clowns and a few other surprises, and makes all of these elements relevant to pre- and early teens, delivering stories in an often-rhyming text that is delightful to read…, a wonderful book for readers of any age..., could prove to be one of those rare juvenile fiction books that survives adolescence to one day be read fondly by (or to) another generation.” 5 stars (out of 5)
         Clarion Review (Foreword Reviews): see complete review

“The charm in this book is that these life lessons are fleshed out in a manner that children will understand and adults will applaud..., an imaginative, well written and thought-provoking treasure for both children and adults.”
         Talk Nerdy With Us: see complete review

"Life is full of unexpected twists and turns and so is this book. Tales for Your Monkey’s Mind is sure to appeal to deep thinkers and philosophers, both young and old. What a nice reminder to keep in touch with one’s childhood and to keep a fresh mind…., Collectively the stories remind us to be true to ourselves, let go of perfection, and to live authentic lives."
        The Children’s Book Review: see complete review

“The artwork is spot on for bringing these stories to life..., These are the highlight of the work..., A true win that parents can enjoy with their children and one that will help spread positive messages.” (5 out of 5 stars)
       Readers' Favorite: see complete review

"Tales For Your Monkey’s Mind is a fun book, in the vein of Shel Silverstein, Roald Dahl, and Dr. Seuss - quirky and imaginative, with vibrant illustrations and themes of fantasy and wonder throughout…, The stories were fun and engaging, short and easy to read, and enjoyable ways to end the day. My older daughter enjoyed them too, with stories of clowns and toys and other fun, fantasy elements."
        Motherhood Moment: see complete review

"Tales For Your Monkey's Mind by Steven Michael Reedy is a book of fables where everything is not always as it seems. Stories about toy factories, clowns, magical storybooks, witch's spells, and more each give a different moral about life and what's most important. Overall, it's an ambitious and imaginative work of children's fiction..., the book deftly manages to be two things at once: dark and fun. That's a very tough balance for a kid's book, but Reedy pulls it off. The book will lead to a lot of interesting discussions between parents and kids, as the morals in each tale are multi-layered. Definitely recommended for kids and adults alike." 4 stars (out of 5)

       SPF- Self Publishing Review: see complete review

"I enjoyed the way it entwines dark, difficult issues with a sense of hope and optimism..., The resolutions are realistic and not too moralistic which is important when using story as a stimulus for creating philosophical questions. I think children will relate to, and empathise with, the feelings of puzzlement and discomfort that the characters experience and describe."
       Lizzy Lewis, SAPERE (Society for the Advancement of Philosophical Enquiry and Reflection in Education)

"I really love the book..., It will teach kids a lot, like how to have fun being a kid and don’t be in a hurry to grow up. I love all the pictures, too, especially the one on the cover with the monkey eyes. Love it!"

       Paola Belloso (age 8), Reader Views Kids (reviews by kids, for kids): see complete review

“Tales for Your Monkey’s Mind” is a beautifully written collection of short stories. Mr. Reedy demonstrates a brilliant ability to draw characters and engages the reader in a way that will keep you turning the page. Deceptively simple, the stories reflect deeper themes including how one defines oneself, the search for meaning in life, and questions of death. You are sure to find inspiration as you read this delightful collection. A must read!”
     Heather Robbins, PHD, LP, Writer

“Beautifully descriptive and crafted stories. Mr. Reedy brilliantly intertwines the societal and personal challenges of the 'real' world into a creative masterpiece full of magical imagination. His colorful, articulate and beautifully crafted stories bring both young and mature alike on a journey through profound life lessons ANY reader of any age can learn. Reedy reminds us all we can live in this world happy and free through the power of love and self-acceptance. I look forward to sharing these stories with my son and will enjoy reading them myself again and again!”
     Leanne Hall, Author

“Has much to offer children, young adults and grownup readers alike. Reedy’s delightfully far-flung whimsy is balanced by somber undertones examining the loss of innocence in an increasingly homogenized corporate society. Reedy’s tales implore readers to maintain (or rediscover) their creativity and individuality while weathering the profound struggles of growing up in the modern world. Never preachy or morose, Reedy entertains readers with his unique humor, strangely hypnotic prose and timeless fantasy scenarios. As a licensed mental health professional and family therapist, I heartily recommend this book as a provocative, healthy discussion tool for parents and their children.”   
     James Robbins, MA, LPC, Author

“I loved it! Sweet. It actually helped me with something I was going through at that moment. I think it's a good message to kids and adults.”
     Kayln Hay, 14 years old

 

Monkey Mind Tales Copyright © monkeymindtales.com 2017
Pages and images on this web site may not be reproduced in whole or in part without written permission.   
  Contact